Central New York Regional Planning & Development Board
Paul W. Pinckney, ChairmanDavid V. Bottar, Executive Director  

Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award, Past Recipients

Adobe PDF document Download the
Nomination Form

David R. Elleman, CNY RPDB's 2007 REC Award Recipient

David R. Elleman (left) receives the CNY RPDB's Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award from County Executive Nicholas J. Pirro at the Board's 2007 Annual Meeting
David R. Elleman (left) receives the CNY RPDB's Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award from County Executive Nicholas J. Pirro at the Board's 2007 Annual Meeting

David R. Elleman was named the recipient of the 22nd Annual Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award at the Central New York Regional Planning and Development Board's (CNY RPDB's) Annual Meeting held on Wednesday, December 12, 2007, at the Syracuse Wyndham.

Mr. Elleman has been a resident of the Syracuse community for over 50 years. During this time he has served both as an elected official and an active citizen volunteer. As an elected official he served as the Onondaga County Comptroller from 1967 to 1995, during which time he was a founding members and president of the NYS Municipal Finance Officers Association. In addition to his official duties Mr. Elleman has been a strong supporter of community planning efforts in our community for many years. As part of his community service Mr. Elleman served as ex officio member of the Onondaga County Planning Board during his tenure as Comptroller and as a volunteer member of the CNY RPDB since 1967. As one of the original members of the CNY RPDB, Mr. Elleman worked closely with Rhea Eckel Clark during the formative years of that organization.

In addition to his strong support for planning initiatives in our community, Mr. Elleman has served numerous other civic organizations in CNY including the United Fund, American Cancer Society, and the Optimist Club of CNY.

Born in Richmond, Indiana, Mr. Elleman is a graduate of Purdue University and a veteran of the USAF where he served in active duty during the Korean War. He flew over 50 bombing missions during this military campaign and was recognized for his service to our nation with the Distinguished Flying Cross Award. Following his active duty service, Mr. Elleman returned to Syracuse and served for many years as a member of the 174th Reserve Unit where he rose to the rank of Lt. Colonel. As a retired citizen, he remains active in our community and continues to lend his support to all of us—both elected and appointed officials—in our efforts to serve the citizens of CNY.

Past Recipients

2019 James J. Murphy, Jr., CNY RPDB Chairman
2018 Lawrence J. Baker, CNY RPDB Board member
2017 Rhea Jezer, Director and Chair, Symposium on Energy in the 21st Century; President, Energy21 LTD
2016 Robert J. Daino, President and CEO, WCNY
2015 Kathryn Howe Ruscitto, President and CEO, St. Joseph's Hospital Health Center
2014 Barbara S. Rivette, Historian, Town and Village of Manlius and Village of Fayetteville
2013 Cornelius B. Murphy, Jr., PhD., President, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
2012 Walter John Tennant, Jr. (posthumously), Chairman, CNY RPDB
2010 Louis Pettinelli, CNY RPDB Board member
2009 Mary Ann Messinger, CNY RPDB Board member
2008 Ferdinand L. Picardi, Chairman, Metropolitan Water Board, Onondaga County Water District
2007 David R. Elleman, CNY RPDB Board member, Onondaga County Comptroller (retired)
2006 Eugene G. Saloga, Director, City of Oswego Community Development (retired)
2005 John Zawadzki, President, Partners Trust Bank; Central Upstate Regional Alliance
2004 James T. Walsh, U.S. Congressman
2003 Robert Doucette, Armory Development & Management
2002 Chuckie Holstein, FOCUS Greater Syracuse
2001 Ralph Standbrook, Chairman, Cayuga County Legislature
2000 Robert H. Kuiper, Mayor, Village of Hamilton
1999 John H. Mulroy (posthumously), former Onondaga County Executive
1998 Ann Petrus, Chair, Cayuga County Water & Sewer Authority; Supervisor, Town of Brutus
1997 Bruce B. Phelps, Oswego County businessman
1996 Arthur W. Ospelt, Oswego County Administrator
1994 Ray Halbritter, Oneida Nation Representative; CEO, Nation Enterprises
1993 Tarky Lombardi, Jr., former New York State Senator
1992 Vijay Mital, Director, Department of Planning and Economic Development, City of Auburn; Team Snyder General
1991 Marilyn Higgins-Rohde, Senior Vice President, Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce
1990 Robert J. Congel, President, Pyramid Companies
1989 Warren H. Frank, Executive Director, CNYRTA
1988 Mayor Tom Young’s Advertising Advisory Council
1987 Francis P. Benton, former CNY RPDB Chairman
1986 L. Steve Riford, NYS Senator
1985 Hollis Iselin, Chair, Oswego County Legislature
Central New York Regional Planning & Development Board, 100 Clinton Square, Suite 200,  126 North Salina St., Syracuse, NY  13202
phone: (315) 422-8276      fax: (315) 422-9051      mail @ cnyrpdb.org