Central New York Regional Planning & Development Board
Paul W. Pinckney, ChairmanDavid V. Bottar, Executive Director  

Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award, Past Recipients

Adobe PDF document Download the
Nomination Form

Mary Ann Messinger, CNY RPDB's 2009 REC Award Recipient

Mary Ann Messinger (left) receives the CNY RPDB's Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award from Board Chairwoman Kathleen A. Rapp at the Board's 2009 Annual Meeting
Mary Ann Messinger (left) receives the CNY RPDB's Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award from Board Chairwoman Kathleen A. Rapp at the Board's 2009 Annual Meeting

Mary Ann Messinger was named the recipient of the 24th annual Rhea Eckel Clark Citizenship Award at the Central New York Regional Planning and Development Board's annual meeting that was held on December 16, 2009.

Ms. Messinger was born in Syracuse and is a life resident of the Bridgeport community in Madison County. Ms. Messinger received a bachelor of history degree from Trinity College in Washington, DC, and a master of human resource management from Chapman University in Orange, California, and began her professional career in Central New York working as a teacher in the Chittenango School District. During this time, she organized a number of community volunteer groups to help supplement the District's staff resources. Ultimately this work led to Ms. Messinger being elected to a seat on the Chittenango Board of Education where she served for many years, several as its Chairperson.

Her work in the education field included several terms of office as a member of the Central New York School Board Association during which time she was honored with the Association's President's Award and Dedicated Service Award. Ms. Messinger also spent time working in close association with the NYS School Board's Association, where she traveled around the State to conduct seminars and training sessions on school board policy and board superintendent relationships and responsibilities.

In addition to her work in the field of education, Ms. Messinger became immersed in community planning issues first in the Town of Sullivan and then as a member of the Madison County Planning Board. This community service work led to her appointment as a member of the CNY RPDB, where she has served for many years including several terms as Chairperson. During this period, she also served on the board of directors and as chairperson of the NYS Association of Regional Councils. Ms. Messinger continues to serve as a member of the CNY RPDB and currently serves as Chair of the CNY Enterprise Development Corporation, a non-profit organization established by the CNY RPDB to manage a regional small business loan program in Central New York.

Past Recipients

2019 James J. Murphy, Jr., CNY RPDB Chairman
2018 Lawrence J. Baker, CNY RPDB Board member
2017 Rhea Jezer, Director and Chair, Symposium on Energy in the 21st Century; President, Energy21 LTD
2016 Robert J. Daino, President and CEO, WCNY
2015 Kathryn Howe Ruscitto, President and CEO, St. Joseph's Hospital Health Center
2014 Barbara S. Rivette, Historian, Town and Village of Manlius and Village of Fayetteville
2013 Cornelius B. Murphy, Jr., PhD., President, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
2012 Walter John Tennant, Jr. (posthumously), Chairman, CNY RPDB
2010 Louis Pettinelli, CNY RPDB Board member
2009 Mary Ann Messinger, CNY RPDB Board member
2008 Ferdinand L. Picardi, Chairman, Metropolitan Water Board, Onondaga County Water District
2007 David R. Elleman, CNY RPDB Board member, Onondaga County Comptroller (retired)
2006 Eugene G. Saloga, Director, City of Oswego Community Development (retired)
2005 John Zawadzki, President, Partners Trust Bank; Central Upstate Regional Alliance
2004 James T. Walsh, U.S. Congressman
2003 Robert Doucette, Armory Development & Management
2002 Chuckie Holstein, FOCUS Greater Syracuse
2001 Ralph Standbrook, Chairman, Cayuga County Legislature
2000 Robert H. Kuiper, Mayor, Village of Hamilton
1999 John H. Mulroy (posthumously), former Onondaga County Executive
1998 Ann Petrus, Chair, Cayuga County Water & Sewer Authority; Supervisor, Town of Brutus
1997 Bruce B. Phelps, Oswego County businessman
1996 Arthur W. Ospelt, Oswego County Administrator
1994 Ray Halbritter, Oneida Nation Representative; CEO, Nation Enterprises
1993 Tarky Lombardi, Jr., former New York State Senator
1992 Vijay Mital, Director, Department of Planning and Economic Development, City of Auburn; Team Snyder General
1991 Marilyn Higgins-Rohde, Senior Vice President, Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce
1990 Robert J. Congel, President, Pyramid Companies
1989 Warren H. Frank, Executive Director, CNYRTA
1988 Mayor Tom Young’s Advertising Advisory Council
1987 Francis P. Benton, former CNY RPDB Chairman
1986 L. Steve Riford, NYS Senator
1985 Hollis Iselin, Chair, Oswego County Legislature
Central New York Regional Planning & Development Board, 100 Clinton Square, Suite 200,  126 North Salina St., Syracuse, NY  13202
phone: (315) 422-8276      fax: (315) 422-9051      mail @ cnyrpdb.org